Posted by: SaraTheAccidentalTourist | April 15, 2012

Sunday, Crappy Sunday

Sunday Crappy Sunday…and raining… You know what I am talking about!

Two things that help me cope with this type of evenings are, of course, related to travel:

1) Dream of your next big trip! One of the things I enjoy the most about traveling is the planning – it makes the whole difference if you do a proper planning and learning about the destination. Your imagination helps you to picture the trip already in your mind and it is then when the dream starts getting real. Plus it helps you to evade from the day to day duties and cheers you up… Just what we need right now 🙂

A really useful tip is reading blogs (check Gary Anrdt’s list of blogs organized by destination and themes) about the destination you have chosen or, if you have not made your mind yet, check the links I suggested in my first blog for your inspiration.

Also, I love Conde Nast Traveller for suggestions, hotels,… if you check their website, that is what I mean by inspiration! As well, Coolhunter‘s blog has a specific area for travel that will definitely blow your mind. And to make sure you are going to the right hotels, TripAdvisor is always a good choice.

Finally, if you are a very visual sort of person like I am, these two sites will help you to put an image to the hotel or destination that you are planning to go: Hotelvideoreviews and youtube.

2) Plan a short escape for next weekend! It does not need to very very far away, or long, with only one night you can get 2 days out of your daily life. A great source for this type of trip is your local e-commerce websites such as LetsBonus or LivingSocial, or Travelzoo or Booking.com for latest deals. This is very quick, no need for it to be expensive and is the best energy pill I know!

I hope this recommendations help you to enjoy Sunday’s evening more!

Sara, The Accidental Tourist

Ps. I must admit rainy days can still be beautiful @Pebble Beach, CA


Leave a comment

Categories